Description


Lecture Series Display only category:ICI Berlin

ERRANS 15-16

(Oct 2015–Jul 2016)

The English verb ‘to err’ has largely lost its positive connotations. It no longer invokes wandering, rambling, or roaming, and is now understood negatively in relation to a prescribed path or goal. To be sure, errors are acknowledged to play an important role in the pursuit of knowledge and hap-piness, but usually only to the extent that their recognition allows for their elimination, correction, and avoidance. Recognizing that a critique of ideals of productivity, success, goal-orientation, and determination is necessarily paradoxical, the ICI Lecture Series ERRANS takes the shifting meanings of ‘erring’ – connoting the violation of norms as well as the activity of wandering – as a prompt to explore the critical potentials and risks of embracing error, randomness, failure, and non-teleological temporalities, and to do so across different disciplines and discourses.

 
Monique David-Ménard
Monday, 5 October 2015

Annamarie Jagose
Monday, 26 October 2015

Ming Tiampo
Monday, 9 November 2015


Mary Cappello
Monday, 30 November 2015

Lorraine Daston
Monday, 8 February 2016

Barbara Cassin
Monday, 22 February 2016

Carlo Ginzburg
Monday, 7 March 2016

Alexander Weheliye
Tuesday, 22 March 2016

Fatima Naqvi
Monday, 2 May 2016

Aliyyah I. Abdur-Rahman
Monday, 20 June 2016

The lecture series accompanies the ICI Research Project ERRANS.

Poster (PDF)


← Back To New Website